Canadian Authors Association, Victoria and Islands Branch

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Canadian Authors Association, Victoria and Islands Branch

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Canadian Authors Association was founded in 1921 by Stephen Leacock, Pelham Edgar, B.K. Sandwell, and John Murray Gibbon. The Victoria and Islands branch was formed on 18 June 1921 at the home of Miss Marjorie Pickthall at 1603 Jubilee Avenue. Original officers were chairman Mr. J. Gordon Smith, vice chairman Mrs. E. B. Shaw, secretary Mr. Cherteris Pemberton, treasurer Mr. Donald Fraser, and committee members Mr. L. Adams Beck, Miss Marjorie Pickthall, Mr. C. Swayne, Mr. B. C. Nicholas, and Mr. George Dyke. Later presidents included Frank Conibear, Dorothy Stranix, Mary Carr Wright, Fred Ford, Vivienne Clarke, Sherry Biggar, June Cable, Trudy Mitic, and Rosemary Cross.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places