Fonds AR240 - Commission on Academic Development fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Commission on Academic Development fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1971-1973 (Creation)
    University of Victoria (B.C.). Commission on Academic Development

Physical description area

Physical description

52 cm of textual records

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The Commission was established by President Farquhar in January 1972 to study and "consider the feasibility of new types of programmes and new areas to be explored...and all aspects of academic growth and development" at UVic. The Commission met with all academic departments and invited submissions from these as well as from individuals. A questionnaire was sent to all students, and a summary of the responses was added as Appendix F of the report. The report was issued late in 1972, and the Appendix volume early in 1973. The Commission consisted of six faculty members, Dr. D.J. MacLaurin as chair, and Dr. G.R. Elliott as secretary. These records were compiled by Dr. John Dewey, who was the deputy chair of the Commission, and a faculty member of the Physics Department. The Commission was also referred to as the "MacLaurin Commission".

Custodial history

Scope and content

The fonds consists of two series: Commission records series, and Report series. The Commission records series consists of notes of meetings, correspondence, rough notes, submissions, drafts reports, and student responses to the questionnaire. The Report series consists of three copies of a draft of the report revised by President Farquhar, Dr. MacLaurin, and Dr. Jennings; and an original copy of the final report, signed by all members of the committee, and autographed by President Farquhar.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

File list available.

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number

Access points

Place access points

Control area

Description record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion


Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Accession area