Fonds AR201 - Department of Theatre fonds

Open original Digital content

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Department of Theatre fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1963- (Creation)
    University of Victoria (B.C.). Dept. of Theatre

Physical description area

Physical description

4 m of textual records;ca. 10,700 photographs;3 audio reels

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

From 1963-1967, theatre courses were offered at the University of Victoria by the Department of English. In 1967, the Theatre Department was established as a division of the newly established Faculty of Fine Arts. Regular theatre productions have been produced by Players Club, 1963-1968, Campus Players, 1964-1967, and Phoenix Theatre since 1966. As well as regular theatre productions during the academic year, the department also offered opportunities for community involvement with the Senior Secondary Summer Theatre Workshop, 1966-1982, and the Phoenix Summer Theatre, which started in 1972. In 1981, the new Phoenix Theatre building was opened. Department chairs include: Carl Hare, 1967-1969; Ralph Allen, 1969-1972; Barbara McIntyre, 1972-1977; Alan Hughes (acting), 1977-1978; Barbara McIntyre, 1978-1981; Murray Edwards, 1981-1982; Carl Hare, 1982-1984; Barbara McIntyre, 1984-1985; Michael Booth, 1985-1995; Giles Hogya, 1995-1998; Ian McDougall (Acting Chair), 1999-2001; Brian Richmond 2001-2008; Warwick Dobson, 2008-2014; Allana Lindgren 2014-2019; Anthony Vickery, 2019-2024.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Fonds includes the following series: Departmental meeting minutes, 1964-69, 1972-82; Planning for Theatre building, 1975-81; Theatre production, 1963-83; Theatre production for Phoenix Summer Theatre, 1972-81, 1986-87; Theatre production for Senior Secondary Summer Theatre Workshop, 1966-82; Theatre production scripts, 1964-89; Theatre production photographs, 1965-83; Theatre production slides, 1963-86.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Inventory available with series and file level control.

Associated materials


1983-181, 1984-024, 1984-030, 1984-030, 1986-011, 1991-006, 1991-090, 1993-041, 1994-060, 1994-062, 2001-017, 2002-027, 2007-034, 2014-008, 2016-032

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number

Access points

Place access points

Control area

Description record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion


Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Digital content (Master) rights area

Digital content (Reference) rights area

Digital content (Thumbnail) rights area

Accession area