Fonds AR145 - Faculty Women's Caucus fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Faculty Women's Caucus fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1985-1996 (Creation)
    University of Victoria (B.C.). Faculty Women's Caucus

Physical description area

Physical description

91 cm of textual records

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The Faculty Women's Caucus began informally in 1985 with a group of faculty women who met to discuss issues pertinent to female faculty. The group gained official status in 1986 when Murray Fraser, VP Academic, formalized the group as the Ad Hoc Committee on Women's Academic Affairs; since that time, the group has been known as the Faculty Women's Caucus. The Chair of the caucus is an ex officio member of the Joint Advisory Committee on Faculty Women's Issues. The first Chair was appointed in 1987; incumbents include: Marilyn Callahan, 1987-1988; Patty Tsurumi, 1988-1989; Maureen Maloney, 1989-1990; Christine St. Peter, 1990-1991; Nancy Galambos, 1991-1992; Judith Terry, 1992-1993; Alison Preece, 1993-1994; Sneja Gunew, 1994-1995; Ginni Eden, 1995-1996; Laurie Baxter, 1996-1997; Margo Young, 1997-1998; Lily Dyson, 1998-2001; Misao Dean, 2001-2002; Radhika Desai, 2002-2004; Hester Lessard, 2004-2005; Margo Matwychuk, 2005-2007; Lynne Marks, 2007-2009; Maneesha Deckha, 2009-2010; Dr. Janni Aragon, 2011-2013; Jin-Sun Yoon, 2015-2017.

Custodial history

Scope and content

The fonds consists of members files, and of the files of several chairs, and members of the Steering Committee: Margie Mayfield (member), 1985-90; Jennifer Waelti-Walters (member), 1988-94; Judith Terry (chair and member), 1988-96; Nancy Galambos (chair), 1990-92; Clare Porac (member), 1990-96; and Alison Preece (chair and member), 1992-95. The files include correspondence, minutes and reports of the steering committee; files relating to the Faculty Association Status of Women Committee, 1993-1994; the President's Advisory Committee on Employment Equity, 1989-93; and the Political Science dilemma, 1992-95.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

File list available.

Associated materials

Related materials


General note

Part of the Victoria Women's Movement Archive.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number

Access points

Place access points

Control area

Description record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion


Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Accession area