Collection SC060 - Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath collection

Open original Digital object

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath collection

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1959 - 1962 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

1 cm of textual records

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Biographical history

Ted Hughes was born in West Yorkshire, England and educated at Cambridge, obtaining a B.A. in 1954 and an M.A. in 1959. Principally as a poet, Hughes has also written plays and children's stories. Among his many published collections are The Hawk in the Rain (1957), Lupercal (1960), Crow (1970), Selected Poems: 1957-1967 (1972) and Moortown (1980). He was named Poet Laureate of England in 1984.

Name of creator


Biographical history

Sylvia Plath was born in 1932; her family lived in Wellesley, Massachusetts when she attended Smith College and graduated in 1955. Plath met and married Ted Hughes while attending Cambridge in 1956. Among Sylvia Plath's collections of poetry are The Colossus (1960), The Bell Jar (1963) and Ariel (1965). She committed suicide in 1963.

Custodial history

Scope and content

The collection consists of letters (1960-1961) written by Hughes to Graham T. Ackroyd. There are also groupings of drafts of Hughes's "Dully Gumption's Addendum", "Fishing at Dawn", "New Moon" and "Out III: Remembrance Day". Additionally, there are drafts and fragments of other works (often on the versos of the previous drafts); several are by Sylvia Plath.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

The collection was purchased from the House of El Dieff in July 1966.


The works are by Ted Hughes unless otherwise noted. More extensive poetry drafts have been given folder numbers with both sides of each leaf assigned a decimal number. The specific pages of the draft sequence are noted.

The drafts were frequently written on leaves previously used for other works. These unrelated works within the folder (usually on the versos of the leaves) are identified in a separate listing.

The assigned numbering of draft pages are for identification only and do not purport to reflect a chronology.

Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Box list available.

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Revised by JF, August 9, 2013.

Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Digital object (External URI) rights area

Digital object (Reference) rights area

Digital object (Thumbnail) rights area

Accession area

Related people and organizations

Related places