Collectie SC060 - Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath collection

Open original Digitaal object

Title and statement of responsibility area


Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath collection

Algemene aanduiding van het materiaal

Parallelle titel

Overige titelinformatie

Title statements of responsibility

Titel aantekeningen



referentie code



Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Datering archiefvorming


  • 1959 - 1962 (Vervaardig)

Fysieke beschrijving

Fysieke beschrijving

1 cm of textual records

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archivistische beschrijving

Naam van de archiefvormer



Ted Hughes was born in West Yorkshire, England and educated at Cambridge, obtaining a B.A. in 1954 and an M.A. in 1959. Principally as a poet, Hughes has also written plays and children's stories. Among his many published collections are The Hawk in the Rain (1957), Lupercal (1960), Crow (1970), Selected Poems: 1957-1967 (1972) and Moortown (1980). He was named Poet Laureate of England in 1984.

Naam van de archiefvormer



Sylvia Plath was born in 1932; her family lived in Wellesley, Massachusetts when she attended Smith College and graduated in 1955. Plath met and married Ted Hughes while attending Cambridge in 1956. Among Sylvia Plath's collections of poetry are The Colossus (1960), The Bell Jar (1963) and Ariel (1965). She committed suicide in 1963.

Geschiedenis beheer

Bereik en inhoud

The collection consists of letters (1960-1961) written by Hughes to Graham T. Ackroyd. There are also groupings of drafts of Hughes's "Dully Gumption's Addendum", "Fishing at Dawn", "New Moon" and "Out III: Remembrance Day". Additionally, there are drafts and fragments of other works (often on the versos of the previous drafts); several are by Sylvia Plath.


Materiële staat

Directe bron van verwerving

The collection was purchased from the House of El Dieff in July 1966.


The works are by Ted Hughes unless otherwise noted. More extensive poetry drafts have been given folder numbers with both sides of each leaf assigned a decimal number. The specific pages of the draft sequence are noted.

The drafts were frequently written on leaves previously used for other works. These unrelated works within the folder (usually on the versos of the leaves) are identified in a separate listing.

The assigned numbering of draft pages are for identification only and do not purport to reflect a chronology.

Taal van het materiaal

Schrift van het materiaal

Plaats van originelen

Beschikbaarheid in andere opslagformaten

Restrictions on access

Termen voor gebruik, reproductie en publicatie.


Box list available.

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standaard nummer


Geografische trefwoorden

Naam ontsluitingsterm

Genre access points


Identificatie van het beschrijvingsrecord


Identificatiecode van de instelling

Regels of conventies


Niveau van detaillering

Datering van aanmaak, herziening of verwijdering

Revised by JF, August 9, 2013.

Taal van de beschrijving

  • Engels

Schrift van de beschrijving


Digitaal object (External URI) rights area

Digitaal object (Referentie) rights area

Digitaal object (Thumbnail) rights area

Voorwaarden voor raadpleging en gebruik

Related people and organizations

Related places