Victoria Symphony Society

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Victoria Symphony Society

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Victoria Symphony was founded in 1941 as a community orchestra comprised of 32 members taken from the Royal Canadian Navy. The ensemble had its first performance 18 May 1942 at the Empress Hotel’s Crystal Ballroom under the direction of Melvin Knudsen. In 1943 the group moved to the Royal Theatre and performed three or four concerts per season. On 12 May 1948 the Victoria Symphony Society was incorporated.

By the mid-1970s the orchestra was fully professional. Directors have included Melvin Knudsen (1941-1948), Hans Gruber (1948-1964), Otto Werner Mueller (1964-1967), Laszlo Gati (1967-1978), Paul Freeman (1979-1988), Peter McCoppin (1989-1999), Kees Bakels (1999-2001), Timothy Vernon (2001-2003), Tania Miller (2003-2017), and Christian Kluxen (2017-).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places